Mid-Session Update on Bill 5052 (Rivers Bill)…With House Email List

river witch meme

Well, we’re officially half-way through the legislative session, but still fighting to save medical cannabis until the gavel finally falls. Last week, the People for Medical Cannabis gathered at the capitol with other patients & supporters for Medical Cannabis Day of Unity on March 5th. Many attended the House public hearing to speak against bill 5052 but were disappointingly restricted by time limits & an obvious preference of speakers chosen by the powers-that-be. It’s no secret that Representative Eileen Cody, who is Chair of the House Committee on Health Care & Wellness (who held the hearing), has a grudge against patients & does not have our best interests in mind. Senator Ann Rivers, sponsor of bill 5052 and lapdog of the recreational canna-business lobbyists, has a lot of nerve calling this the “Cannabis Patient Protection Act”, given that it would destroy the voter-approved rights patients have had for 17 years. It’s utterly frustrating to feel ignored every way I turn and see those with ulterior motives misrepresent what is best for the poorest, sickest patients who can’t afford a trail of lobbyists.

After the hearing, many gathered to pull their district legislators off the House floor to speak with them. Some were successful and others set up future meetings. It’s essential to educate our legislators about the specifics of how bill 5052 would affect us as patients, caregivers, and providers. They must know your needs in order to represent them. It can feel vulnerable to talk to a politician about something so private and important to you, but they really need to make that personal connection to understand the potential impact of their decisions as lawmakers.

At this point, bill 5052 passed the Senate by a large majority and awaits decisions from the House. It is scheduled for an executive session this Friday, March 13th at 10AM. The public can’t participate but can view it in person or on TVW.org. The House may decide on possible amendments and publish a substitute bill with the changes. However, unless there is a striker amendment that deletes everything in the bill and replaces it with, say… bills 1020 or 2058 (a miracle), there is no amount of amending that will make 5052 acceptable for the medical cannabis community. It will probably be referred to another committee next week and possibly a floor vote. So, if you haven’t yet written to your House Representatives about this, DO IT NOW or you may lose your chance and your rights.

If 5052 passes, it would:
– Reduce the current 60-day supply to a 1-week supply.
– Decrease allowed plant count from 15 to 6.
– Require a statewide registry for patients and designated providers accessible by law enforcement. Registries in other states have proven to be a risk for privacy breaches and federal subpoenas.
– Eliminate affirmative defense in court.
– Close medical dispensaries and farmers markets.
– Force patients into the overpriced (2-4 times higher in cost), less accessible, unsuitable recreational stores.
– Forbid patients from processing their plants into any type of extract or infusion (includes kief, bubble hash, cooking oil/butter, etc).
– Permit home inspections of private gardens by law enforcement.
– Forbid small, residential, patient co-op grows (of just 4 patients) within a 15-mile radius of a recreational store.
– Restrict authorizations and interfere with doctor/patient relationship.

WA House Representative Email List:
Name, E-mail, District, Position, Party

Rep. Sherry Appleton- sherry.appleton@leg.wa.gov, District 23, 1, D
Rep. Steve Bergquist- steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov, District 11, 2, D
Rep. Brian Blake- brian.blake@leg.wa.gov, District 19, 2, D
Rep. Vincent Buys- vincent.buys@leg.wa.gov, District 42, 2, R
Rep. Michelle Caldier- michelle.caldier@leg.wa.gov, District 26, 2, R
Rep. Reuven Carlyle- reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov, District 36, 1, D
Rep. Bruce Chandler- bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov, District 15, 1, R
Rep. Frank Chopp- frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov, District 43, 2, D
Rep. Judy Clibborn- judy.clibborn@leg.wa.gov, District 41, 2, D
Rep. Eileen Cody- eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov, District 34, 1, D
Rep. Cary Condotta- cary.condotta@leg.wa.gov, District 12, 1, R
Rep. Richard DeBolt- richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov, District 20, 1, R
Rep. Tom Dent- tom.dent@leg.wa.gov, District 13, 1, R
Rep. Hans Dunshee- hans.dunshee@leg.wa.gov, District 44, 1, D
Rep. Susan Fagan- susan.fagan@leg.wa.gov, District 9, 1, R
Rep. Jessyn Farrell- jessyn.farrell@leg.wa.gov, District 46, 2, D
Rep. Jake Fey- jake.fey@leg.wa.gov, District 27, 2, D
Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon- joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov, District 34, 2, D
Rep. Roger Goodman- roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov, District 45, 1, D
Rep. Mia Gregerson- mia.gregerson@leg.wa.gov, District 33, 2, D
Rep. Carol Gregory- carol.gregory@leg.wa.gov, District 30, 2, D
Rep. Dan Griffey- dan.griffey@leg.wa.gov, District 35, 1, R
Rep. Larry Haler- larry.haler@leg.wa.gov, District 8, 2, R
Rep. Drew Hansen- drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov, District 23, 2, D
Rep. Mark Hargrove- mark.hargrove@leg.wa.gov, District 47, 1, R
Rep. Mark Harmsworth- mark.harmsworth@leg.wa.gov, District 44, 2, R
Rep. Paul Harris- paul.harris@leg.wa.gov, District 17, 2, R
Rep. Brad Hawkins- brad.hawkins@leg.wa.gov, District 12, 2, R
Rep. Dave Hayes- dave.hayes@leg.wa.gov, District 10, 2, R
Rep. Jeff Holy- jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov, District 6, 2, R
Rep. Zack Hudgins- zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov, District 11, 1, D
Rep. Graham Hunt- graham.hunt@leg.wa.gov, District 2, 1, R
Rep. Sam Hunt- sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov, District 22, 2, D
Rep. Ross Hunter- ross.hunter@leg.wa.gov, District 48, 1, D
Rep. Christopher Hurst- christopher.hurst@leg.wa.gov, District 31, 2, D
Rep. Laurie Jinkins- laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov, District 27, 1, D
Rep. Norm Johnson- norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov, District 14, 1, R
Rep. Ruth Kagi- ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov, District 32, 2, D
Rep. Christine Kilduff- christine.kilduff@leg.wa.gov, District 28, 2, D
Rep. Steve Kirby- steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov, District 29, 2, D
Rep. Brad Klippert- brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov, District 8, 1, R
Rep. Linda Kochmar- linda.kochmar@leg.wa.gov, District 30, 1, R
Rep. Joel Kretz- joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov, District 7, 2, R
Rep. Dan Kristiansen- dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov, District 39, 1, R
Rep. Kristine Lytton- kristine.lytton@leg.wa.gov, District 40, 1, D
Rep. Drew MacEwen- drew.macewen@leg.wa.gov, District 35, 2, R
Rep. Chad Magendanz- chad.magendanz@leg.wa.gov, District 5, 2, R
Rep. Matt Manweller- matt.manweller@leg.wa.gov, District 13, 2, R
Rep. Joan McBride- joan.mcbride@leg.wa.gov, District 48, 2, D
Rep. Gina McCabe- gina.mccabe@leg.wa.gov, District 14, 2, R
Rep. Bob McCaslin- bob.mccaslin@leg.wa.gov, District 4, 1, R
Rep. Jim Moeller- jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov, District 49, 2, D
Rep. Jeff Morris- jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov, District 40, 2, D
Rep. Luis Moscoso- luis.moscoso@leg.wa.gov, District 1, 2, D
Rep. Dick Muri- dick.muri@leg.wa.gov, District 28, 1, R
Rep. Terry Nealey- terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov, District 16, 2, R
Rep. Ed Orcutt- ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov, District 20, 2, R
Rep. Timm Ormsby- timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov, District 3, 2, D
Rep. Lillian Ortiz-Self- lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov, District 21, 2, D
Rep. Tina Orwall- tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov, District 33, 1, D
Rep. Kevin Parker- kevin.parker@leg.wa.gov, District 6, 1, R
Rep. Strom Peterson- strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov, District 21, 1, D
Rep. Eric Pettigrew- eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov, District 37, 2, D
Rep. Liz Pike- liz.pike@leg.wa.gov, District 18, 2, R
Rep. Gerry Pollet- gerry.pollet@leg.wa.gov, District 46, 1, D
Rep. Chris Reykdal- chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov, District 22, 1, D
Rep. Marcus Riccelli- marcus.riccelli@leg.wa.gov, District 3, 1, D
Rep. June Robinson- june.robinson@leg.wa.gov, District 38, 1, D
Rep. Jay Rodne- jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov, District 5, 1, R
Rep. Cindy Ryu- cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov, District 32, 1, D
Rep. Sharon Tomiko Santos- sharontomiko.santos@leg.wa.gov, District 37, 1, D
Rep. David Sawyer- david.sawyer@leg.wa.gov, District 29, 1, D
Rep. Joe Schmick- joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov, District 9, 2, R
Rep. Elizabeth Scott- elizabeth.scott@leg.wa.gov, District 39, 2, R
Rep. Mike Sells- mike.sells@leg.wa.gov, District 38, 2, D
Rep. Tana Senn- tana.senn@leg.wa.gov, District 41, 1, D
Rep. Matt Shea0- matt.shea@leg.wa.gov, District 4, 2, R
Rep. Shelly Short- shelly.short@leg.wa.gov, District 7, 1, R
Rep. Norma Smith- norma.smith@leg.wa.gov, District 10, 1, R
Rep. Larry Springer- larry.springer@leg.wa.gov, District 45, 2, D
Rep. Melanie Stambaugh- melanie.stambaugh@leg.wa.gov, District 25, 1, R
Rep. Derek Stanford- derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov, District 1, 1, D
Rep. Drew Stokesbary- drew.stokesbary@leg.wa.gov, District 31, 1, R
Rep. Pat Sullivan- pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov, District 47, 2, D
Rep. Dean Takko- dean.takko@leg.wa.gov, District 19, 1, D
Rep. Gael Tarleton- gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov, District 36, 2, D
Rep. David Taylor- david.taylor@leg.wa.gov, District 15, 2, R
Rep. Steve Tharinger- steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov, District 24, 2, D
Rep. Kevin Van De Wege- kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov, District 24, 1, D
Rep. Luanne Van Werven- luanne.vanwerven@leg.wa.gov, District 42, 1, R
Rep. Brandon Vick- brandon.vick@leg.wa.gov, District 18, 1, R
Rep. Brady Walkinshaw- brady.walkinshaw@leg.wa.gov, District 43, 1, D
Rep. Maureen Walsh- maureen.walsh@leg.wa.gov, District 16, 1, R
Rep. J.T. Wilcox- jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov, District 2, 2, R
Rep. Lynda Wilson- lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov, District 17, 1, R
Rep. Sharon Wylie- sharon.wylie@leg.wa.gov, District 49, 1, D
Rep. Jesse Young- jesse.young@leg.wa.gov, District 26, 1, R
Rep. Hans Zeiger- hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov, District 25, 2, R

Share this:
Facebooktwitter

3 thoughts on “Mid-Session Update on Bill 5052 (Rivers Bill)…With House Email List”

  1. The newest version of this bill allows federal agents to access the database as well…

    SECTION 21

    (1) The department must contract with an entity to create, administer, and maintain a secure and confidential medical marijuana authorization database that, beginning July 1, 2016, allows:

    (d) Appropriate local, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement or prosecutorial officials who are engaged in a bona fide specific investigation of suspected marijuana-related activity that may be illegal under Washington state law to confirm the validity of the authorization card of a qualifying patient or designated provider;

    ________________

    Also, “Bona fide specific investigation” is a bullshit phrase that is not defined in law.  It does not necessarily mean “probable cause” is required, especially considering the language, “may be illegal under WA ST law”.

    So a federal agent can use your cooperation of showing you are on the registry as evidence of a federal crime being committed, then seize your property, arrest you and get a federal prosecutor to prosecute…and you have to cooperate lol.  

    You being on the database gives them the probable cause they need for federal charges.

Comments are closed.